Dangerous Women – It’s What We’re Reading


July
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Dangerous Women
George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

There is something for everyone in Dangerous Women, an anthology of 21 short stories each centered on one or more strong female characters. Many of the stories are science fiction or fantasy tales, as one would expect with George R.R. Martin as one of the editors. Well known authors penned many of the stories, and several are set in worlds that their authors created and developed in other books, including a story that is set in the world of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, and one set in George R.R. Martin’s Westeros before the events in the Game of Thrones books take place. With the fantasy and science fiction genres so often filled with male characters, it was especially fun to see depictions of so many strong women. Reading the stories included in Dangerous Women was a good way to find new-to-me authors whose books I am now looking forward to reading.

The book can be found on the First Floor in the Popular Reading section.

Longbourn - It's What We're Reading


June
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Longbourn
Jo Baker

If you are lover of Pride and Prejudice and Downton Abbey, you cannot miss the novel, Longbourn by Jo Baker. The novel is the imagined day-to-day lives of the servants working for the Bennet family downstairs on the ground floor of Longbourn. Mrs. Hill has her hands full managing the staff of four that keeps the Bennet family well fed, in clean and mended clothes, and always with a cup of tea at hand. Mrs. Hill is joined by her husband, Mr. Hill, the butler, two orphan housemaids, Sarah and Polly, and a mysterious footman, James. At the heart of the novel is a budding romance between the orphan-turned-housemaid Sarah and James who seems to have a complicated past and strange connection to the Longbourn house.

The representation of the Bennet family is as you might expect, Jane is quiet and lovely, Elizabeth outspoken and smart, Lydia silly and loud, and Mrs. Bennet as the social climber and a bundle of nerves. Mr. Wickham seems a bit more wicked, and Mr. Collins is a little more sympathetic, although excruciatingly unappealing. The story is light, but it is always fun to see the Bennet family from another perspective.

The book can be found on the First Floor in the Popular Reading section.

The Monuments Men : Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History - It's What We're Reading


May
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 The Monuments Men : Allied heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History
Robert M. Edsel with Bret Witter

As WWII was winding down on the European continent, President Franklin D. Roosevelt established the Monuments, Fine Arts and Archives (MFAA) section of western Allied forces, otherwise known as “the Monuments Men”. Under the command of Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, a band of men and women, including some 200 Americans, was assigned to the task. Almost exclusively given the rank of officers, the mission of the Monuments Men was to protect and triage, where possible, the treasured art and architecture of France and Germany*.

Most held positions at esteemed museums in North America and all were recognized as knowledgeable persons in their respective fields, whether it be sculpting, architecture, restoration, etc. Each was assigned to a unit and often arrived on the scene right as a battle ended, sometimes even as artillery was still hot and smoking. Sometimes the Monuments Men arrived just as a valued structure had been reduced to rubble.

The author describes specific precious items stolen by the Nazis from their fellow Germans. Most of these thefts were from wealthy Jews, whose possessions often ended up warehoused in creative hiding places. The tale includes little biographical sketches of the main players on both sides, along with descriptive information of the numerous civilians who assisted in this great work. Not to minimize the large-scale loss of human life in this war, the author presents a most engaging and poignant read of the large scale stealing and destruction of this war and the humble heroics performed to save what was considered culturally important to Western Civilization. For anyone who has an appreciation of art and architecture, or has visited Europe, this book is a must-read!

*The author tackles a similar Monuments Men project in Italy in a separate book.

Currently, this book is on the Post Commons new book shelves (1st fl.) and also as an audiobook. (Drexel, 1st fl.)

Finals Week Events at the PAC

cherryblossomsFinals have you down? Anxious? In need of a break?
De-stress at the Post Academic Center during Finals Week!

Free 5 Minute Massages:
May 7th, 8th, and 9th, 8:00pm – 10:00pm

PAWS for a Study Break:
May 6th, 11:00am – 3:00pm

24/7 Hour Building Access:
May 6th – 13th
LIBRARY WILL CLOSE SATURDAY,
May 10th, at midnight, and
REOPEN at 9:00am SUNDAY.
Library will close at 7:30pm May 13th.

Old Mars - It's What We're Reading


April
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Old Mars
George R.R. Martin, Gardner Dozois, Michael Moorcock and Joe R. Lansdale, editors

In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and Edgar Rice Burroughs, Old Mars conjurers up the old-style adventure storytelling of going to and discovering the mysteries of Mars. The book is an anthology of stories about Mars, Martians, and the Human equation. Old Mars is reminiscent of The Martian Chronicles and is a tip of the hat to the preceding ages of literary science fiction.

Each story, told with a contemporary twist, adheres to the mystery and wonder that inspired the early authors to write about the red planet. Many of these new stories pay homage to their predecessors, respecting the mythos while simultaneously acknowledging our current understanding of the planet based on our state-of-the-art scientific study of Mars today.

Old Mars prompts its readers to consider just how much of what we know about the planet today will change in the years to come as we learn more about it. The stories in Old Mars are a combination of enjoyable, old-fashioned science fiction fantasy tempered with a contemporary mindset. Readers can immerse themselves in a world of infinite probabilities and improbabilities all the while asking the tantalizing question of: what if?

This book can be found on the First Floor of the Library in the Popular Reading section.

Innocence: a novel - It's What We're Reading


March
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 Innocence: a novel
Dean Kootnz

Innocence is a supernatural thriller that will have you guessing through to the end.

From birth, Addison Goodheart’s mere appearance is enough for people to fear and despise him just by looking at him. Just the sight of his face brings death to his door and compels anyone who sees him to want to kill him. Banished by his mother at age eight, Addison Goodheart finds his way to the big city where he lives out his days beneath it hiding out in the dark tunnels and taking refuge in the central library at night, finding solace amongst its rich collection of books.

There he meets Gwyneth, a mysterious young woman with a dubious history on the run from someone who wants her and everyone she cares for dead. Together they forge a union that goes beyond friendship. They must find a way to survive and stay ahead of those who would do them harm. Their union runs deeper than the tragedies that have scarred their lives in a world where the hour of reckoning is nearly upon them all.

This book can be found on the First Floor of the Library in the Popular Reading section.

New and Improved Discover Service

Discover LogoOver Christmas Break 2013-2014, the library changed Discovery systems. Discover allows you to search across most of our databases and for books in the library.

Discover provides:

  • EBSCO‘s familiar interface (i.e., Academic Search Premier or Business Source Elite)
  • Easy off-campus access to full text with the FindIt!@SJU button
  • Better and more relevant search results
  • Improved MLA formatted citations
  • Topic exploration and Interdisciplinary research
  • Easy article location (even without a full citation)

Two other prominent interdisciplinary resources were also updated over Break.
For more information and video tutorials:

LexisNexis Academic Web of Science

TransAtlantic: a novel - It's What We're Reading


January
2014 A monthly offering from Drexel Library’s staff about the books we’ve read.

11/23/63 TransAtlantic
Colum McCann

Colum McCann’s latest novel, TransAtlantic is an homage to the deep ties between Ireland and America over time and space. He recounts three crossings; aviators Alcock and Brown flying across the ocean in 1919, Frederick Douglass traveling to Ireland to raise money for the abolitionist movement in 1863, and George Mitchell’s diplomatic trip in 1998 to mediate a peace accord in Northern Ireland. McCann connects these events through the life and legacy of Lily Duggan, a young Irish servant who is empowered to travel to America to a better life for her children. A beautifully poetic novel.

This book can be found on the First Floor of the Library in the Popular Reading section.

Season’s Readings 2013

The eagerly awaited 2013 edition of the Francis A. Drexel Library’s popular Season’s Readings is now available.

This year’s list is full of interesting books as exciting as previous years.

There are adventure novels, historical perspectives, biographical narratives, and case studies. Pretty much something for everyone.

Peruse the list and get that special someone a great holiday gift, find something for yourself, or simply give the list itself as a gift.

2013 Season’s Readings

For access to previous Season’s Readings lists, click here.

Finals Events and Services at the Library

Check out the end of the semester events and services at the Drexel Library and Post Learning Commons!

Group Study Rooms: Reserve a room in the library for studying or group projects. Call 610-660-1904 or email refhelp@sju.edu to schedule a reservation.

Late Night Write Night: Writing Center Tutors will be available Monday, December 9, from 7 p.m. – midnight in their Learning Commons Satellite Location (room 128). Use this online form to make an appointment.

Extended Hours:
Starting Tuesday, December 10 the Library and Learning Commons will be open 24/7.
Exception:
LIBRARY WILL CLOSE SATURDAY, December 14 at midnight, and REOPEN at 9am SUNDAY.
Library will close at 7:30pm Dec. 17.

5 Minute Massage: Take a break with a 5-minute massage from a certified sports massage therapist. December 11-13, 8:00-10:00pm

Saint Josephs University